Data Banner Spring 2018

DATA News: April 2016

Administrative Updates & Announcements

We regret to announce that Executive Assistant to the Chair, Yvette Massey, and our Information Technology Specialist, Kao Yang, have decided to leave the department. They both had their last day during the week of March 14th. The Chair’s Office is currently in the process of filling both positions.

Awards & Accomplishments

Professor Paul Schrater had his research featured in an article on the Scientific American website. The article is titled “Why We Love the Games That Enrage Us Most: The psychology of intrinsic motivation and ‘hard fun’ could improve education and, naturally, the next generation of video games”. The article can be found here. Four of our Graduate Students in the Department of Psychology were awarded a Graduate Research Fellowship by the National Science Foundation for their research. The fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and in STEM education. The GRFP provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant research achievements in STEM and STEM education.

Congratulations on your great work!

Rafael Aguilera
Jessica Bair
Majel Baker

Ummul-Kiram Kathawalla

Upcoming Events

Please mark your calendars and plan to attend the annual recognition celebration for psychology undergraduate students. This annual event recognizes our outstanding undergraduate achievements and graduating seniors.

Friday, May 6th, 2016
4:00pm - 6:00pm at the Campus Club,
Coffman Memorial Union

Those recognized will include:

Spring 2016 Degree Applicants; Mortensen Scholarship & Award recipients; Select CLA, University and National Scholarship recipients; Outstanding achievement in the Major Project: The Sharon Borine Award; 2015-16 UROP recipients; Donor Awards for Psychology Undergraduate Engagement recipients; and 2015-16 Psi Chi Inductees

Please forward any questions to Mike Houlahan, mhoulaha@umn.edu.
Faculty and Staff, please RSVP via our web form here:

Thank you for your support of our undergraduate students!

Publish Date: 
April 1, 2016



Jeff Simpson
N210 EltH - 626-3171

Stephen Engel
Associate Chair
S249 EltH - 625-5571

Rich Lee
Associate Chair
N563 EltH - 625-6357

Holley Locher
Chief of Staff
N210 EltH - 625-7852

Missy Jones
Assistant to the Chair
S248 EltH - 626-3171

Lisa Keith
Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
N210 EltH - 624-5089

Accessibility options

This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.