Data Banner Spring 2018

DATA News: February 2018


Awards & Announcements

Psychology Chair and Distinguished McKnight Professor Monica Luciana on the roots of mental illness and impacts of drug abuse here.

Professor Paul Sackett will be awarded the Distinguished Teaching Contribution Award by the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology at the Society's annual conference in Chicago in April.  The Society gives lifetime achievement awards for Research, Teaching, and Service.  Professor Sackett is the only person to receive all three of these awards.

Professor Paul Sackett comments in Scientific American about why people dislike really smart leaders.

Dr. Ying-Zi Xiong is the recipient of the Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholar of 2017 at UMN, awarded by the Postdoctoral Association. Ying-Zi’s research deals with visual aspects of reading in normal and low vision. She is working with Gordon Legge in the Minnesota Lab for Low-Vision Research, and also with Peggy Nelson and colleagues in the Center for Applied and Translational Sensory Science (CATSS).
The award will be presented to Ying-Zi during a town Hall in March. Congratulations to Ying-Zi for this honor!

CSPR graduate student Jeremy Harper received the Eva O. Miller Fellowship for the 2018-2019 academic year. The title of his fellowship proposal is "Substance Use Problems, Impaired Cognitive Control, and Prefrontal Cortex Anomalies: Using Twins to Disentangle Determinants and Consequences of Substance Misuse." He is advised by William G. Iacono.

Emeritus professor Tom Bouchard has just been awarded the Dunnette Prize, one of the most prestigious awards in the field of psychology. The prize is awarded every three years to “to honor living individuals whose work has significantly expanded knowledge of the causal significance of individual differences through advanced research, development, and/or application.”

Four Psychology Majors received the Mulhollem Craven's Leadership Scholarship for next summer:
Yuchen Liu, Katherine Rosenow, Alex Clauson, and Wengi Luo
This is a $5000 award that can be applied to a paid or unpaid summer internship in 2018. Students have until May 1st to secure an internship site.


Chaitali Phadke
Area: QPM
Advisor: Dave Weiss
Dissertation: Measuring Intra-Individual Change at Two or More Occasions With Hypothesis Testing Methods

Melissa Sharpe
Area: I/O
Advisor: Paul Sackett
Dissertation: Self-Other Agreement on Performance Ratings as a Predictor of Individual Longitudinal Outcomes and Future Agreement


Professor Alex Rothman along with colleagues in the School of Public Health, School of Medicine, and Fairview Health Services have been awarded a grant from NIH to develop and test intervention strategies that can be embedded within the electronic medical record to support physician’s prescribing decisions for patients with chronic pain.

Visiting Scholars

Jolien van Aar, a graduate student from the University of Amsterdam is visiting during the spring 2018 semester to work with Alex Rothman and his research lab. Her visit is supported by a University of Amsterdam UvA385 Fellowship.

Upcoming Events

Psychology Undergraduate Celebration
Friday, May 4th, 2018
4:00pm - 6:00pm at the Campus Club,
Coffman Memorial Union

Please mark your calendars and plan to attend the annual recognition celebration for psychology undergraduate students. This annual event recognizes our outstanding undergraduate achievements and graduating seniors. Formal RSVPs will come out mid-semester.

Those Undergraduate Students recognized will include:

Spring 2018 Degree Applicants
Mortensen Scholarship & Award recipients
Select CLA, University and National Scholarship recipients
Outstanding achievement in the Major Project: The Sharon Borine Awards
2017-18 UROP recipients
Donor Awards for Psychology Undergraduate Engagement recipients
2017-18 Psi Chi Inductees

Please forward any questions to Mike Houlahan, mhoulaha@umn.edu.

Publish Date: 
February 2, 2018



Jeff Simpson
N210 EltH - 626-3171

Rich Lee
Associate Chair
N563 EltH - 625-6357

Moin Syed
Associate Chair
S348 EltH - 626-4206

Holley Locher
Chief of Staff
N210 EltH - 625-7852

Missy Jones
Assistant to the Chair
S248 EltH - 626-3171

Lisa Keith
Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
N210 EltH - 624-5089

DATA News: April 2016


Accessibility options

This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.